When did Rape become a culture???

Over the years I have come to embrace the concept of culture, and different ideologies that make up our Universes’ melting pot. This process includes: being aware and accepting of differences, having my own unique and personal set of practices that characterize my beliefs, being acquainted with different forms of the arts (my views on art go beyond paintings, music, poetry and literature. I’ve come to learn that art is so beautiful because of its subjectivity and creative interpretation), and straying away from normative practices that I never quite fitted into. This cultural embracing has also allowed me to stand against man made concepts such as religion, and embark on finding my purpose in life through a very personal and intimate relationship. I am in a better place mentally, emotionally, spiritually because of this cultural embrace. I am encouraging growth–“I cultivate.”

Like Art, culture is also subjective. Many of us tend to disagree with certain cultural practices because they seem demoralizing, unjust and offensive. Those that practice these forms of culture tend to see it differently, and embrace it. It’s important for us to fight for human rights, civil rights and equality, but we must also accept that certain practices for certain people are forms of growth—except for rape.

In the past couple of weeks there has been a lot of buzz in (social) media about “ending rape culture,” and I am appalled. I have tried my best to avoid reading what either side has to say, but this has become a difficult feat. I’ve come across several tweets, messages and articles that describe rape victims as “harlots who deserve what they get, folks who need to avoid getting raped, or as persons responsible for another’s sexual behavior. Perhaps this is just my own naïveté, but I am appalled that this is even trending as some sort of culture. Rape as a culture implies that it is an acceptable form of abuse, it encourages self-expression, and an art form meant for imitation.

The justifications/defense for rape as a culture includes victim blaming as aforementioned, slut-shaming, glorifying music that encourages/perpetuates rape, and the gross sexualization of men and women. No matter how extraordinary, unjust or unique someone’s culture might be these absolutely do not define a cultural make up. What this defines, however, is the lack of education around why boys/men/women should not rape, the complete disregard for humanity at the conception of the thought to rape another, and dehumanization of the victim. I cannot stress how important it is to use well thought out word choices. Words are a form of art, and they breathe life into our world. Using the term “rape culture” permeates this form of abuse into our being, and makes it socially acceptable to the perpetrators. Let’s just call rape what it is, Rape: a crime.

En tout cas,

me

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nessaboo813
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 13:50:46

    Been meaning to comment on this posting but it slipped my mind. You posted a huffington post article just now about rappers and rape that reminded me of my feelings regarding this piece.

    “En tous cas”… I understand your frustrations with rape and the ideals surrounding it but I tend to disagree with the argument that rape is not a culture. A culture in itself is an way of life/modes operendi that defines a set of people. Female genital mutilation defines the nation of Africa. It is a culture. Rape defines certains groups of people in this country and therefore is also a culture.

    Part of finding a solution to problem is accuately defining the issue and the elements that make up its being. Defining rape as a culture is not a means of acceptance but a means of eradicating and preventing the all too common phenomenon. The conversation must begin somewhere and the use of this terminology is a means of theoretically delving into the issue and dissecting the elements that make rape acceptable without personalizing the story and make it a he/she debate. I think its effective and invites a much healthier debate than what would otherwise ensue.

    I got more to say but I think you get my drift.

    Reply

  2. jbrookec
    Apr 16, 2013 @ 11:01:57

    Got your drift….
    I won’t contest your opinion, especially since the term “rape culture” has already been coined. I do, however, hope that this brings about a healthy discussion that begins with parents teaching their children not to rape and why it is wrong to violate someone in that manner (any manner at that). So far it’s been disgusting arguments that have not been focused on eradicating the issue.

    Reply

Que Dites-vous? (What say you?)

